Voting open for Best FIFA Women’s Player, Keeper and Coach, plus Puskás award

Alex Morgan and Megan Rapinoe at 2019 awards
Alex Morgan and Megan Rapinoe at the 2019 awards ceremony. (PA Images)

Shortlisted candidates have been revealed for The Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony on 17 December 2020, including best female player, goalkeeper and coach.

The Best FIFA Women’s Player

  • Lucy Bronze (England / Olympique Lyonnais / Manchester City WFC)
  • Delphine Cascarino (France / Olympique Lyonnais)
  • Caroline Graham Hansen (Norway / FC Barcelona)
  • Pernille Harder (Denmark / VfL Wolfsburg / Chelsea)
  • Jennifer Hermoso (Spain / FC Barcelona)
  • Ji So-yun (Korea Republic / Chelsea)
  • Sam Kerr (Australia / Chelsea)
  • Saki Kumagai (Japan / Olympique Lyonnais)
  • Dzsenifer Marozsán (Germany / Olympique Lyonnais)
  • Vivianne Miedema (Netherlands / Arsenal)
  • Wendie Renard (France / Olympique Lyonnais)

The Best FIFA Women’s Goalkeeper:

  • Ann-Katrin Berger (Germany / Chelsea FC Women)
  • Sarah Bouhaddi (France / Olympique Lyonnais)
  • Christiane Endler (Chile / Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Hedvig Lindahl (Sweden / VfL Wolfsburg / Atlético de Madrid Femenino)
  • Alyssa Naeher (USA / Chicago Red Stars)
  • Ellie Roebuck (England / Manchester City WFC)

The Best FIFA Women’s Coach:

  • Lluís Cortés (Spain / FC Barcelona)
  • Rita Guarino (Italy / Juventus Women)
  • Emma Hayes (England / Chelsea FC Women)
  • Stephan Lerch (Germany / VfL Wolfsburg)
  • Hege Riise (Norway / LSK Kvinner)
  • Jean-Luc Vasseur (France / Olympique Lyonnais)
  • Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands / Dutch national team)

FIFA Puskás Award

The eleven-goal shortlist includes three from female players

  • Shirley Cruz (CRC) – Costa Rica v. Panama [Concacaf Women’s Olympic qualifying, 28 January 2020
  • Sophie Ingle (WAL) – Arsenal v Chelsea [FA Women’s Super League, 19 January 2020
  • Caroline Weir (SCO) – Manchester City v Man United [FA Women’s Super League, 7 September 2019

The winner of the FIFA Puskás Award will be selected by an international jury comprising a panel of FIFA Legends and by the fans from all over the world registered on Each of the two groups of voters within the jury has the same electoral weight. Public voting is open and will run until 9 December 2020 (22:59 UK time).

FIFA will announce the three finalists in each of the categories listed above on 11 December 2020.

Could female footballers face greater dementia risk from heading the ball?

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter