USA and Mexico grouped together in CONCACAF Women’s Championship

Mexico grouped with USA in CONCACAF Women's Championship
USA beat Mexico 4-0 in the 2020 CONCACAF Olympic Qualifying semi-finals. (Photo by Kevork Djansezian/Getty Images)

USA and Mexico have been grouped together in the CONCACAF Championship qualifiers for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

The draw was as follows:

Group A: USA, Mexico, Jamaica, Haiti
Group B: Canada, Costa Rica, Panama, Trinidad and Tobago

The top two in each group will qualify for the World Cup, while the two third-placed sides will go into ten-team inter-continental play-offs from which three will make the finals.

Additionally, the Championship winners will qualify for the 2024 Olympics in Paris, while the runners-up and third-placed team meet for the federation’s second berth in France.

Mexico are hosting the 2022 CONCACAF Women’s Championship, with games taking place from 4-18 July in Monterrey.

FAWNL: Stockport County Ladies safe after beating Barnsley

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter