Tanya Oxtoby names her first Northern Ireland Women’s squad

Northern Ireland squad for first UEFA Women's Nations League games
Photo by Harriet Lander/Getty Images

New Northern Ireland manager Tanya Oxtoby has named her first squad ahead of the inaugural edition of the UEFA Women’s Nations League.

Northern Ireland visit Republic of Ireland at the Aviva Stadium on Saturday 23 September (1pm ko), before welcoming Albania to Seaview, Belfast, on Tuesday 26 September (7pm ko).

Former Chelsea Women assistant-manager Oxtoby, who was announced as the new boss last month, has selected a 23-strong panel for her two opening games in League B Group B1.

Oxtoby told fai.ie: I am looking forward to meeting up with the group. I have spent the last fortnight – since officially coming into the role – getting to know the players.

“I am really excited with the squad we have selected. It’s a great mix of exciting, young players and experienced internationals.

“I know they are excited, too, to get out on the grass and start working together to begin our journey towards success.”

There are three changes from the squad named for July’s friendlies in Scotland and Czechia, as in come Laura Rafferty and Ellie Mason, while Kirsty McGuinness is also back after injury.

Missing out this time are Cliftonville trio Kelsie Burrows, Fi Morgan and Danielle Maxwell.

Tickets for Northern Ireland v Albania are available here.

Northern Ireland squad

Goalkeepers: Rachael Norney (Cliftonville Ladies), Shannon Turner (Wolverhampton Wanderers Women), Lilie Woods (Mid Ulster Ladies).

Defenders: Rebecca Holloway (Racing Louisville, USA), Abbie Magee (Cliftonville Ladies), Ellie Mason (Birmingham City Women), Sarah McFadden (Durham Women), Rebecca McKenna (Charlton Athletic Women), Laura Rafferty (Southampton Women), Demi Vance (Glentoran Women).

Midfielders: Joely Andrews (Glentoran Women), Megan Bell (Rangers Women), Nadene Caldwell (Glentoran Women), Marissa Callaghan (Cliftonville Ladies), Rachel Furness (Bristol City Women), Caragh Hamilton (Lewes), Chloe McCarron (Glentoran Women).

Forwards: Kerry Beattie (Glentoran Women), Simone Magill (Aston Villa Women), Caitlin McGuinness (Cliftonville Ladies), Kirsty McGuinness (Cliftonville Ladies), Lauren Wade (Reading Women), Emily Wilson (Glentoran Women).

Ireland squad named for first UEFA Women’s Nations League games

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter