Squad named for Lionesses’ remaining four EURO 2025 qualifiers

Chelsea's Aggie Beever-Jones gets England call-up
Chelsea’s Aggie Beever-Jones gets England call-up. (Photo by Justin Setterfield/Getty Images).

Sarina Wiegman has named 28 players for England’s decisive UEFA Women’s EURO 2025 qualifiers this summer.

The squad will be initially formed of 24 players, with four more on standby, to prepare for the first of two back-to-back international windows.

Millie Bright returns to the squad after injury for the first-time in 2024 and there is delight for forward Aggie Beever-Jones who is named in the 24 after an impressive season with Chelsea and the WU23s.

Liverpool’s Missy Bo Kearns, Tottenham Hotspur’s Jessica Naz and Southampton’s Kayla Rendell are among those named on the standby list and part of the collective for an important summer.

The Lionesses face France in Newcastle on Friday 31 May, before travelling to Saint-Étienne for the return fixture with Les Bleus on Tuesday 4 June. All 28 players will report to St. George’s Park on Monday 27 May.

There is then a gap before the EURO qualifying group stage campaign concludes with fixtures against the Republic of Ireland in Norwich on Friday 12 July and a trip to Gothenburg to face Sweden on Tuesday 16 July.

The squad for the final two group matches in July will also be formed from the group of 28 players named today.

Following the conclusion of the May/June window, players will have a period of rest and recuperation before a three-day training camp at St. George’s Park on 19-22 June.

The players will then gather at St. George’s Park for a five-day preparation camp between 24-28 June. The preparation phase concludes with a final camp in the Netherlands from 1-5 July. This will also involve a behind closed doors training fixture against the Dutch.

The players will have all weekends within this period off. The FIFA window for the final group stage fixtures begins on Monday 8 July. The 28 players will join at different stages of this preparation phase based upon their club programme.

Wiegman told englandfootball.com: “This is another important summer for us to achieve our goal of qualifying for the EURO.

“After an intense season, we wanted to give the players clarity and help them to prepare for the FIFA windows in the best possible way, with the balance of performance and welfare as a priority. We have had good conversations with the clubs, and we are grateful for their cooperation and support in helping the players to be fresh, fit and ready for two international matches on the highest level.

“Naming a player group of 28 provides us with different options across the four fixtures and is an opportunity for some new faces to impress and build new connections.

“We’re really excited to get going again. The group is finely balanced and we know that every game is going to be tight and we’ll need to be at our best. France are an opposition we haven’t yet faced together so I’m looking forward to that challenge of playing one of the best teams in the world.”

The Squad

Goalkeepers: Mary Earps (Manchester United), Hannah Hampton (Chelsea), Khiara Keating (Manchester City), Kayla Rendell (Southampton)*

Defenders: Millie Bright (Chelsea), Lucy Bronze (Barcelona), Jess Carter (Chelsea), Niamh Charles (Chelsea), Alex Greenwood (Manchester City), Maya Le Tissier (Manchester United)*, Esme Morgan (Manchester City), Millie Turner (Manchester United), Leah Williamson (Arsenal), Lotte Wubben-Moy (Arsenal)

Midfielders: Grace Clinton (Tottenham Hotspur, loan from Manchester United), Missy-Bo Kearns (Liverpool)*, Fran Kirby (Chelsea), Jess Park (Manchester City), Georgia Stanway (Bayern Munich), Ella Toone (Manchester United), Keira Walsh (Barcelona)

Forwards: Aggie Beever-Jones (Chelsea), Lauren Hemp (Manchester City), Lauren James (Chelsea), Chloe Kelly (Manchester City), Beth Mead (Arsenal), Jessica Naz (Tottenham Hotspur)*, Alessia Russo (Arsenal)

* On standby

Tickets remain on sale for England’s next home game, the visit of France will be England women’s first-ever appearance at St James’ Park (kick-off at 8pm).

The final home qualifier against the Republic of Ireland at Carrow Road (kick-off at 8pm) has sold-out of all available tickets.

Emirates Stadium to be main home ground for Arsenal Women

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter