Spain crowned inaugural UEFA Women’s Nations League champions

UEFA Womens Nations League Final - Spain v France - Estadio Olimpico de Sevilla
Players of Spain celebrate their victory with the trophy. (Daniela Porcelli / SPP)

Spain became the first side to lift the UEFA Women’s Nations League trophy, while Germany secured qualification for the Olympics.

UEFA Women’s Nations League Final

Spain 2-0 France (Att: 32,657)

3rd Place Play-Off

Netherlands 0-2 Germany (Att: 20,500)

Spain women’s record crowd of over 32,000 in Seville witnessed a 2-0 win in the final, bringing a first-ever victory for La Roja over France.

Aitana Bonmati volleyed in a cross from Olga Carmona after the half-hour, the lead doubled eight minutes after the interval when Mariona Caldentey turned in Ona Battle’s delivery.

UEFA Womens Nations League - Netherlands v Germany - Abe Lenstra Stadion
Lea Schueller, Alexandra Popp and Giulia Gwinn celebrate a goal for Germany. (Leiting Gao / SPP)

Germany won 2-0 away to the Netherlands in the 3rd-place play-off, to earn a berth at this summer’s Olympics in Paris.

The game remained goalless until the last quarter of the match, when Lena Oberdorf crossed and Klara Buhl scored with a half-volley.

With 12 minutes to go, the lead was doubled as Buhl turned provider and Lea Schuller netted convincingly with a header.

No promotions in Women’s Nations League play-offs

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter