Scottish WF Awards 2012

Sponsored by Barnardo’s Fostering Scotland, the awards at Hampden on the evening of Friday 23rd November, brought down the curtain on an eventful season.

Of course, on the night, the below awards were announced in reverse order, with Celtic’s defender picking up arguably the most prestigious accolade (though some will argue Player’s Player is up there) of the evening.

A wander around the Scottish National Football Museum (also based within Hampden Park) and glass of fizzy, kicked off what was a thoroughly enjoyable event. Team quizzes with tables competing against each other; dinner; a raffle; and interviews with each of the winners combined to create a formal occasion that also had an engagingly informal feel – Scottish Women’s Football’s Maureen McGonigle put on a fine show!

Despite some understandable nerves, each and every winner came across as equally humble, informed, passionate and inspirational. We will catch up with some of the winners over the next month and in the next issue. Sponsors who presented the prizes also came across as supportive of the girls and women’s game too.

It was an all-round ‘feel-good’ football fest (though my head didn’t feel quite so good, the next morning – the clubs and individuals involved in the post awards fun know who they are!).

Thanks to Stephen Kennedy (from SWFitba) and his trusty assistant Emma for images from the night:

The Scottish Football Association International Player of the Year – Rhonda Jones (Celtic) with National Head Coach Anna Signeul.

The Scottish Sun Players’ Player of the Year – Jane Ross (Glasgow City)

MNE Premier Division Player of the Year – Natalie Ross (Celtic)

Henson Projects 1st Division Player of the Year – Lesley Blair (Airdrie United FC)

Sportscotland ‘Services to Girls’ Football – Liz Anderson (East Fife LFC)

ACA Sports Coach/Manager of the Year – Mark Nisbet (Forfar Farmington FC)

SWF Services to Womens Football Award – Rose Riley, collected by former team-mate Elsie Cook.

 Positive Coaching Scotland Award Doug Johnston – Linlithgow Rose

The Scottish PFA 2nd Division Player of the Year – Laura Ann Johnson (Dundee City)  talks to host Alison Walker.

All images: Stephen Kennedy ( 

She Kicks – the online community for women’s football

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter