Republic of Ireland Women’s squad announced for Albania matches

Republic Of Ireland v Zambia - International Friendly
Erin McLaughlin of Republic of Ireland in action against Zambia. (Photo by Charles McQuillan/Getty Images)

Republic of Ireland interim head coach Eileen Gleeson selects a 26-player squad for the UEFA Women’s Nations League games against Albania, reports

There is a call-up for in-form midfielder Erin McLaughlin, who last week helped Peamount United win the SSE Airtricity Women’s Premier Division title with two games still to play.

Injuries rule out Niamh Fahey, Aoife Mannion, Claire Walsh, Tara O’Hanlon, Ruesha Littlejohn, Roma McLaughlin, Jess Ziu and Leanne Kiernan.

The home game on Friday 27 October at Tallaght Stadium is sold out but live on RTÉ2 at 5.45pm, as is the return on Tuesday 31 October at 5pm.


Goalkeepers: Courtney Brosnan (Everton), Grace Moloney (London City Lionesses), Sophie Whitehouse (Lewes)

Defenders: Caitlin Hayes (Celtic), Louise Quinn (Birmingham City), Diane Caldwell (FC Zurich), Claire O’Riordan (Standard Liege), Hayley Nolan (Crystal Palace), Chloe Mustaki (Bristol City), Megan Campbell (Everton)

Midfielders: Katie McCabe (Arsenal), Denise O’Sullivan (North Carolina Courage), Lily Agg (Birmingham City), Megan Connolly (Bristol City), Jamie Finn (Birmingham City), Tyler Toland (Blackburn Rovers), Sinead Farrelly (NJ/NY Gotham), Lucy Quinn (Birmingham City), Heather Payne (Everton), Izzy Atkinson (West Ham United)

Forwards: Kyra Carusa (San Diego Wave), Amber Barrett (Standard Liege), Abbie Larkin (Glasgow City), Saoirse Noonan (Durham WFC), Emily Whelan (Glasgow City), Erin McLaughlin (Peamount United)

Swansea University drawn away to Bute Energy Welsh Cup holders

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter