Northern Ireland women’s squad for North Macedonia double header

Northern Ireland celebrate
Photo: Charles McQuillan/Getty Images

Northern Ireland women’s manager Kenny Shiels has made a couple of changes to his squad for the FIFA Women’s World Cup qualifiers against North Macedonia.

Shiels’ side are away to the Macedonians first on Thursday 25 November in Skopje, then back home for the second meeting on Monday 29 November at Seaview – all tickets for the game have already been sold.

Birmingham City defender Rebecca Holloway, who missed last month’s double header through injury, returns to the fold.

And Crusaders Strikers defender Rachel McLaren, who was Holloway’s replacement in October, retains her place in the squad.

Also back in the panel is Cliftonville striker Caitlin McGuinness, who missed out last month.

Missing out this time are Southampton defender Laura Rafferty and Crusaders Strikers striker Emily Wilson, who is injured.

Cliftonville defender Toni-Leigh Finnegan is not available once again due to injury, while still recovering from long term injuries are Rangers midfielder Megan Bell and Linfield pair Ashley Hutton and Abbie Magee.

Northern Ireland currently lie third behind England and Austria in European Qualifying Group D. They have seven points from four qualifiers to date. North Macedonia are in fourth place in the six-team group with three points from four matches.

Northern Ireland squad

Goalkeepers – Jackie Burns (Lee University/Glentoran), Becky Flaherty (Huddersfield Town), Maddy Harvey-Clifford (Crusaders Strikers).

Defenders – Julie Nelson (Crusaders Strikers), Rebecca McKenna (Lewes), Rebecca Holloway (Birmingham City), Sarah McFadden (Durham), Kelsie Burrows (Cliftonville), Demi Vance (Rangers), Rachel McLaren (Crusaders Strikers).

Midfielders – Marissa Callaghan, Louise McDaniel (both Cliftonville), Nadene Caldwell, Chloe McCarron, Caragh Hamilton, Joely Andrews (all Glentoran), Rachel Furness (Liverpool), Ciara Watling (Southampton).

Forwards – Kerry Beattie, Lauren Wade (both Glentoran), Simone Magill (Everton), Kirsty McGuinness (Cliftonville), Caitlin McGuinness (Cliftonville).

#FAWNL: Derby County Women go top

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter