#FIFAWWC: Belgium, Germany and Netherlands make joint hosting bid

USA won the 2019 finals in France
USA lifted the trophy in France in 2019. (PA Images)

Belgium, Netherlands and Germany have launched a joint bid to host the 2027 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

“Three Nations, One Goal,” is the slogan for the bid, with the federations saying they will produce an official document by the end of the year, ahead of opening discussions with their governments and selecting potential host cities.

The Netherlands had already received parliamentary backing a couple of years ago for a solo bid to host the 2027 tournament.

Belgian federation chief executive Peter Bossaert said: “We want the Women’s World Cup, the world’s largest women’s sporting event, to take place here in 2027.

“In recent years, with the European Championship in the Netherlands in 2017 and the World Cup in France in 2019, we have seen what such an event can bring – great matches, full stadiums, large numbers of TV viewers and visitors from all over the world.”

Other bids could be launched by Chile and also a joint-Nordic one, among several other possible hosts.

Australia and New Zealand will host the 2023 tournament.

Northern Ireland squad named for latest #WEURO2022 qualifier

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter