#DanskeWomensPrem: Glentoran’s goals clinch title with one game to go

Glentoran win Danske Bank Premiership title
Photo: Glentoran FC

Glentoran won the Danske Bank Women’s Premiership title after edging out title rivals Cliftonville 3-2 at The Oval on Wednesday night.

The result means that the Glens have moved three points clear at the top of the standings with just one round of action remaining, but their superior head-to-head record over the Reds has clinched them the title.

Goals from Caragh Hamilton and Kelly Bailie put the Glens into a commanding two-goal advantage at half-time, but the Reds fought back in the second half.

Louise McDaniel pulled a goal back nine minutes after the break before Cliftonville captain Megan Moran headed home a leveller with 19 minutes remaining to set up a tense finale.

Northern Ireland striker Kerry Beattie restored the Glens lead three minutes later and they hung on to secure the result and the title, their second in a row.

Linfield ran out 4-1 victors over Derry City at New Midgely Park as the Blues chalked up a convincing home victory.

Katie Dickson, Ebony Leckey, Rebecca Bassett and Amy Trueik were all on target for the home side, with Tara O’Connor on the scoresheet for the Candystripes.

Crusaders Strikers beat Sion Swifts
Crusaders Strikers v Sion Swifts. (Photo: Ephy McConnell)

At Seaview, Crusaders Strikers edged out Sion Swifts 2-1.

Cora Chambers gave Sion the lead in the 12th minute but the home side responded midway through the first half when Northern Ireland international striker Emily Wilson hit the equaliser, before Aimee Neal’s late own goal sealed the points for the Crues.

#FAWNL: Hashtag United and Lincoln City Women new leaders

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter