#ContiCup: Last season’s finalists drawn in same group

Louise Quinn leaves Arsenal
Chelsea beat Arsenal at The City Ground in the 2019-20 final. (Photo: Jon Super for The FA)

The draw for the FA Women’s Continental Tyres League Cup 1st Round sees last season’s finalists placed in the same group.

The competition will kick-off on 7-8 October, with six groups instead of four, from which the eventual top sides progress, along with the two best runners-up.

Holders Chelsea and beaten finalists Arsenal are grouped with Spurs and London City, while Group C sets up both Manchester and Merseyside derbies.

The full draw is as follows:

Group A: Coventry United, Aston Villa, Sheffield United, Durham

Group B: Chelsea, Tottenham Hotspur, Arsenal, London City Lionesses

Group C: Liverpool, Manchester United, Everton, Manchester City

Group D: West Ham United, Charlton Athletic, Reading, Brighton & Hove Albion

Group E: Birmingham City, Blackburn Rovers, Leicester City

Group F: Lewes, London Bees, Bristol City, Crystal Palace

Fixtures and details of the date and venue for this season’s final will be released in due course.

Rachel Daly signs new three-year Houston Dash deal

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter